Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Hayes Principal to Lead New Middle School 

Hayes Principal to Lead New Middle School 
Dave Hoskins

Dave Hoskins has been named principal for Mary E. Britton Middle School, slated to open in August 2025. He currently serves as principal at Edythe J. Hayes Middle School (EJHMS) and will remain in this role until he assumes his new position this July.

With nearly 25 years of experience in education, Hoskins began his career in 2001 as a teacher with Franklin County Schools at Elkhorn Middle School before joining Team FCPS in 2004 as an eighth-grade language arts teacher at Hayes in its inaugural year. During his tenure as a teacher, he also served as head football coach. In 2006 he was named second associate principal at Hayes and served in that role until becoming principal in 2012.

“Mr. Hoskins was a founding teacher at EJHMS and is familiar with a new school taking shape and building its own unique school culture,” said Chief School Leadership Officer Bill Bradford. “His proven record as a middle school educator and school leader will help ensure a successful opening for Mary E. Britton Middle School in 2025."

Under his leadership, Hayes has been consistently rated as the highest-performing non-magnet middle school in the district, and in 2022, Hayes was ranked 14 among all middle schools in Kentucky based on state testing results.

“Dave’s commitment to academic excellence, equity, and family engagement will serve him well as the inaugural principal for our newest school,” said Superintendent Demetrus Liggins. “He understands the value and impact of quality relationships, and his proven success as a middle school leader will yield an immediate impact as he builds a new school community at Mary E. Britton."

Hoskins earned his bachelor’s degree and master’s degree in Secondary English Education from the University of Kentucky and a master’s degree in Educational Leadership from Eastern Kentucky University. He serves on Eastern Kentucky University's College of Education Advisory Committee and formerly served as chair of the Juvenile Restorative Justice board of directors.